Review: A DUTY TO THE DEAD by Charles Todd

A few of the WWI Reading Challenge in 2012 participants have read A Duty to the Dead by Charles Todd.

Here’s an excerpt from Impressions in Ink:

I have fallen head over heels in love with this writing team.
I love the use of rich descriptive words such as frothy, cheeky, and hurt like six devils.
I loved the steady crescendo of story, it is gradual…not a story with high peaks or shallow valleys.
I loved the interesting characters.

Read the full review.

Here’s an excerpt from The Written World:

The fact that this one was centred around a female nurse, Bess Crawford, during WWI immediately caught my attention. I am a huge fan of Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs series, so I am always looking for series of that same nature.

Read the full review.

Here’s a snippet from Bitter Tea and Mystery:

For me, the main attraction of this book is the picture it gives us of life during World War I in England. The main character, Bess Crawford, is a nurse on the Britannic, a hospital ship, when it sinks. She survives, but an injury forces her return to England on leave.

Read the full review.

Here’s a sample from Victoria Janssen:

Though the overall tone was dark and serious, there were still touches of humor, which I really appreciated.

Read the full review.

Here’s an excerpt from Scrappy Cat:

I enjoyed it much more than I expected – I don’t usually read mysteries, although I grew up reading Nancy Drew mysteries (didn’t all girls?).  It’s the first in a series, so I may just have to read more.

Read the full review.

**Attention participants: Remember to email us a link to your reviews, and we’ll post them here so we can see what everyone is reading!**

1 Comment

  1. This is on my TBR pile. I’m enjoying the Charles Todd books.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Past Posts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 115 other followers