Reviews: THE ZOOKEEPER’S WIFE by Diane Ackerman

The Zookeeper’s Wife by Diane Ackerman is another WWII book that participants have read this year.

Check out the excerpt below and click on the link for a full review.

A Comfy Chair and A Good Book said:

This is one work of non-fiction that just missed the mark for me. I was really looking forward to reading this account of WWII but found myself frustrated and bored while reading it.

Peachybooks said:

The author uses this story of individual human compassion as a way of telling the larger story of the fate of Poland under Nazi occupation. The events at the Zoo, and that happen to Antonina’s family are drawn from Antonina’s personal diary, but these events are put into wider context by the author, using various sources to give a historical context to the continued subjugation of Poland, and an insight into Nazi ideology.

Page After Page said:

I find myself wondering, “How would I have responded? Would I have been brave? Would I have been smart enough to evade the enemy while saving people? How would I have handled the stress of living under those conditions and deprivations?”

I hope I would have handled myself just like Antonina Zabinski.

**Attention participants:  Remember to email us a link to your reviews, and we’ll post them here so we can see what everyone is reading!**

1 Comment

  1. Watch the trailer for The Zookeeper at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z75b19HbpL8


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 129 other followers

  • Past Posts