Reviews: THE BOY IN THE STRIPED PAJAMAS by John Boyne

A few participants recently read and reviewed The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne for the WWII reading challenge.  Here are excerpts from their reviews; click the links to read their complete thoughts.

Christina from Reading Thru the Night says:

I thought this book was incredible. From the moment that I began reading, I was pulled into Bruno’s perspective on what was going on in Germany during World War II.

Kris from Not Enough Books says:

All Bruno knows is that he is taken from a home he loves and brought to a home where there are no other boys to play with and city to explore. He doesn’t realize exactly what it is his father is doing and what is going in the concentration camp that is right by his house. However that is what makes this story so powerful! The story is told from a totally different point of view than what we normally get. It’s told from a kids point of view, the way a kid experiences what is going on and understands what is going on.

Arielle from Bookatopia says:

This is easily the saddest book I have read this year and what made it worse was the innocence of the two boys who really didn’t understand the meaning behind the concentration camp or why they were supposed to be enemies. Throughout the book you encounter little hints of what goes on at the other side and how the Jews were treated, which the nine year old Bruno does not seem to apprehend but you obviously do. However nothing prepared me for the ending. Since I know that this book is geared towards young adults, I think I was naive as to how bad it could get and I was really shocked. I never thought a book could do that to me! The only thing that bothered me about this book is that sometimes the writing was mediocre. This was mostly due to long sentences that had no punctuation and never seemed to end. However, since I was so wrapped up in the story I was able to overlook this and it didn’t hinder me from enjoying the book any less.

thekoolaidmom from In the Shadow of Mt. TBR says:

There are a few things that just got under my skin with this book, however.  For instance, if these people are German, then I assume they speak German in their thoughts as well as conversations with one another.  I found it mildly irritating that Bruno would think “Auschwitz” would sound like “Aus mit” (the direct translation “Out-with”).  Or that he would hear “Der Führer” and think people were calling Hitler “Das Wut”.  Also, there are a lot of repetition in the book.  Okay, I get it… Father’s office is “Out of bounds at all times with no exceptions.”  I got that the first time.  And I caught it on page 1 that Bruno had some stuff that belonged to him and were nobody else’s business.  Another thing I really wish Boyne had added to the book was how Bruno and Shmuel would have spent their birthday.  No doubt Bruno would have had a party with cake and a big dinner, but how would he have shared the special day with his “twin”?

**Attention participants:  Remember to email us a link to your reviews, and we’ll post them here so we can see what everyone is reading!**

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 129 other followers

  • Past Posts