Reviews: THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows is, hands down, the most popular book among WWII reading challenge participants.  Here is the latest round of reviews; to read an entire review, just click the link.

J.T. Oldfield from Bibliofreak says:

Overall, it’s a good, fun, read, especially for lovers of Brit lit.

Serena from Savvy Verse & Wit says:

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society is about how books can change lives and how people can impact one another’s lives.

This is one of the best books I’ve read in 2009.

Natasha from Maw Books Blog says:

In all honesty, I must admit that it didn’t grab me right away.  It took me more than three weeks to get past the first 75 pages.  I’d pick it up, read a bit, put it down again.  When I picked it up I couldn’t remember anything that was going on or who in the world these people are.  And there were a lot of people!  The book is told in letters and by the books end there would be about twenty different voices. Once I got past the rocky start, I really enjoyed this book.

Becky from Becky’s Book Reviews says:

I loved everything about this one. The setting. The characters. The language and style. I felt Juliet to be a kindred spirit. I loved the way she talked about books as friends. That reading was something she was so passionate about. That making connections was so important to her. That friendships matter. There was something so charming about this one.

Heather from Age 30+…A Lifetime of Books says:

I love books that teach me things I didn’t know but that are still entertaining. This book seems light and fun most of the time but there is an undercurrent of sadness and horror due to the German occupation of Guernsey and WWII itself. I learned SO MUCH from this book! I didn’t know about the German occupation of the island, the Polish slave labor sent there, the fact that the island remained occupied even after D-Day …. And there are little things as well, things I’d never considered before. Like what did women in concentration camps due when they menstruated (before starvation stopped it)? That tidbit of info horrified me even more because it was something I simply never considered before.

Nise’ from Under The Boardwalk says:

Thought this was a great book about love and friendship.

Dawn from She Is Too Fond of Books says:

…do know that The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society was a quick read that I enjoyed.  I appreciated the distance the format provided, and the many voices that combined to form a complete picture of life on Guernsey during, and in the years immediately following, the German occupation.

Mel from The Reading Life says:

There is so much to love about this wonderful easy to read book.  The production values are very good.   It is very uplifting and moving without being maudlin at all.   I endorse this book without reservation.

Arielle from Bookatopia says:

Although dealing with a topic like WWII and the suffering that the people went through in this time, it is told in a lighthearted and humane way so as to make the book very enjoyable to read. I really didn’t want this book to end, but I was pleased with how it ended as I am a sucker for happy endings. Seriously though who doesn’t love one? However I must mention that if you are looking for an in-depth book about the German Occupation in Guernsey, this is not it.

Hope from Worthwhile Books says:

One of the amazing features of the book is how it shows simple people with no training in the classics grappling to understand them AND SUCCEEDING.

Lynda from Lynda’s Book Blog says:

Overall an informative novel of life in wartime Guernsey.
Beautifully written.

**And don’t forget to check out Heather interview with Guernsey co-author Annie Barrows on Age 30+…A Lifetime of Books!**

**Attention participants:  Remember to email us a link to your reviews, and we’ll post them here so we can see what everyone is reading!**

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 129 other followers

  • Past Posts