Review: I HAVE MY MOTHER’S EYES by Barbara Ruth Bluman

Kathy from Bermudaonion read I Have My Mother’s Eyes: A Holocaust Memoir Across Generations by Barbara Ruth Bluman for the WWII challenge.  Here’s an excerpt from her review:

I Have My Mother’s Eyes by Barbara Ruth Bluman is the story of Zosia and Natek’s perilous escape from Europe at the beginning of World War II.  (Barbara is their daughter.)  There’s a little bit of Barbara’s own story sprinkled throughout.  Zosia and Natek have a fascinating journey – they managed to escape through grit, determination, luck and the help of people like Chiune Sugihara, the Japanese Consul in Lithuania, who provided travel visas for over 6000 Jews, against direct orders he received.  I wasn’t as emotionally connected to Zosia and Natek as I would have liked – I think that’s because the book is told in the third person one generation removed.  I wanted to know how Zosia and Natek felt as well as how they managed to escape.  I still liked this book and think others interested in World War II will as well.

Read the complete review here.

**Attention participants:  Remember to email us a link to your reviews, and we’ll post them here so we can see what everyone is reading!**

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 129 other followers

  • Past Posts