Review: GONE WITH THE WIND by Margaret Mitchell

The Reading Life reviewed Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell for the U.S. Civil War Reading Challenge 2011.  Here’s an excerpt:

I liked this novel for the details it gave about life in the American south.   I thought the accounts of Atlanta during the war and its post war development were just brilliantly done.    The characters were amazingly well developed.   Just as soon as you think you have a character all figured out they do something that shocks you but you realize it is right in character and you just did not understand them well enough.     I wanted to dislike Scarlett but I just could not!    I guess she charmed me like she did all the boys!    Captain Butler was exciting and mysterious.   Melanie Wilkes was a saint, her husband was a relic of the old south.

One of the things I thought was really great in the book was Mitchell’s account of how some people were somehow totally energized by the need to  rebuild their lives after the defeat of the south and went on to build meaningful lives for themselves and their families and others will spend the next 50 years crying over the glory of old never to come again days.

Read the full review.

**Attention participants: Remember to email us a link to your reviews, and we’ll post them here so we can see what everyone is reading!**

2 Comments

  1. I read (and reread) this one many years ago and loved it! So much so that I ordered a copy recently and plan to read it still again!

    Great review!

  2. I read it for the first time in high school. It wasn’t required; I chose it on my own because my mom is a huge fan of the movie and had me stay up late and watch it with her one night. I was tempted to read it for the challenge, but it’s so long!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 130 other followers

  • Past Posts