Review: BIRDSONG by Sabastian Faulks

One Great War recently read and reviewed Birdsong by Sabastian Faulks for the WWI Reading Challenge in 2012.  Here’s a sample:

However, despite this good start, I didn’t particularly enjoy Birdsong. Ultimately I think I enjoyed this book so little because it was fundamentally character-driven, with several wishy-washy plots that meandered around and ended when the novel ended, not because they’d found their natural conclusion. The plotline of Wraysford’s granddaughter discovering his diaries in 1978 was particularly weak (she read like a throwaway character, and the plot relied on melodrama).

Read the full review.

 

**Attention participants: Remember to email us a link to your reviews, and we’ll post them here so we can see what everyone is reading!**

 

2 Comments

  1. I read Birdsong years ago and loved it. Faulks is an excellent writer and just because this person didn’t like the book, I would still give it a chance. As a history teacher I thought it was valuable.

  2. I’ve been thinking about this one for my own list of WWI books this year. I sort of wing it with my War Through the Generations’ lists.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 131 other followers

  • Past Posts