Review: AN UNMARKED GRAVE by Charles Todd

Book Dilettante recently read and reviewed An Unmarked Grave by Charles Todd for the WWI Reading Challenge in 2012. Here’s a sample:

The descriptions of the maimed, the dying, and the dead for me was overwhelming, and I had a deep sense of sadness and discomfort reading about it throughout the book.

Read the full review.

The Written World also read this one.  Here’s an excerpt:

I continue to enjoy the setting of this series. I appreciated the fact that there are actual scenes from the home front, but there are also moments from the field.  Bess is an interesting character. Sometimes I find her a bit too perfect, but ultimately she has grown on me with each book. I like her much more now than I did in the beginning.  One thing that I can’t help thinking about is how every guy that she meets seems to fall in love with her. It’s almost getting overdone. It might be time for her to have feelings for a guy, too.

Read the full review.

Tutu’s Two Cents also read this one for the challenge.  Here’s a snippet:

Their descriptions of battlefield casualty stations give us a realistic imagery of the horror of the carnage, while at the same time giving us a tribute to the courage of all those working under these unimaginable circumstances.  In addition, their depiction of the ravages of the Spanish Flu adding to the desolation caused by the war itself, serves to paint a realistic and devastating picture of the beginning of the twentieth century.

Read the full review.

Helen’s Book Blog read this one and reviewed it as well.  Here’s an excerpt:

World War I is one of my favorite historical eras to read about (and teach) so when I was offered this novel for a TLC Tour I jumped at the chance. The fact that this is the fourth Bess Crawford book didn’t really occur to me until I was well into the book and realized some of the characters might mean more to me (and confuse me less) if I had read the previous three books. But, no matter, the book still works even without reading the others.

Read the full review.

Reviews by Molly also read and reviewed this one.  Here’s a sample:

A wonderfully written, absolutely captivating read! Mother/son team, Charles Todd has instantly made a fan out of me, and this is just the first one that I’ve read! Bess Crawford’s character and the mysterious events surrounding her in this suspenseful read was awesome. The best, however, was the fact that this was a historical mystery, centered around WWI and the Spanish Flu epidemic.

Read the full review.

**Attention participants: Remember to email us a link to your reviews, and we’ll post them here so we can see what everyone is reading!**

2 Comments

  1. I’ve so enjoyed reading this series of books, I’ve not read this one in particular, but they are very good. Thanks for these great reviews.

  2. I’m really glad that you’ve enjoyed Todd’s books. I’ve read our participants reviews and see the appeal.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 129 other followers

  • Past Posts