Reviews: JACK ABSOLUTE by C.C. Humphreys

jack absoluteSeveral participants in the 2013 American Revolution Reading Challenge reviewed Jack Absolute by C.C. Humphreys. Here are excerpts from their reviews; click the links to read the full reviews.

Unabridged Chick said:

The writing style is brisk, punchy, with a mix of banter-y dialogue (it’s obvious Humphreys appreciates a good line!) and continuous action. I’ll be honest, when I learned the author was an actor first, I was a little bit nervous about the meat of the story, but my anxieties were for naught: Humphreys has done his research. From dress to speech, customs, food, and gossip, the narrative was rich with detail without being too bogged down (although some of the military maneuvering made my eyes glassy, but that’s just me).

The Maiden’s Court said:

There was never a dull moment here, right from the first pages. It is certainly an adventure novel and the pages just keep turning. Whereas sometimes attention paid to action decreases the attention paid to the character development, this does not happen here. I found myself vacillating again with my regards for General Benedict Arnold and Major John Andre. I also have to admit that the author kept me guessing as to the identity of the spies in question. I had no idea until almost the end.

Diary of an Eccentric said:

Jack Absolute is an expertly paced novel that has so much to offer in terms of action, setting, and historical detail. Jack’s duties keep him on the go, and he always manages to end up in impossible situations, which ensures the plot never slows down. Humphreys does a brilliant job making the characters, both historical and fictional, come to life. Jack Absolute is one of the most interesting and complex characters I’ve come across.

Under The Boardwalk said:

I liked Jack from the beginning and each time it looked like his life was over, I held my breath.

challenge button**Attention participants: Remember to email us a link to your reviews, and we’ll post them here so we can see what everyone is reading!**

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 130 other followers

  • Past Posts