Read-a-Longs for 2014 War Challenge

Since readers can read any of the war categories throughout the year, we thought it would be additional fun to host several read-a-longs.

In February, we’ll be hosting a read-a-long for Sunrise Over Fallujah by Walter Dean Myers for the Gulf Wars (this one is about Operation Iraqi Freedom).  SCHEDULE TBD SOON.

In April, we’ll be hosting a read-a-long for the French and Indian War with I Am Regina by Sally M. Keehn.  SCHEDULE released in March.

In June, we’ll be hosting a read-a-long for the Korean War, with War Babies by Frederick Busch.  SCHEDULE released in May.

In August for the 100th anniversary of WWI, we’ll be hosting a read-a-long of Stella Bain by Antia Shreve.  SCHEDULE released in July.

In October, we’ll be hosting a read-a-long of The Monuments Men by Robert M. Edsel and Bret Witter for WWII.  SCHEDULE released in September.

In December, for the Vietnam War, we’ll be hosting a read-a-long for Going After Cacciato by Tim O’Brien.  SCHEDULE released in November.

We hope that you’ll be joining us for at least one or more of these read-a-longs in 2014.

9 Comments

  1. I’m in for August for sure. I’m just not into the Vietnam War, not sure why,

  2. I hope to join in on the August read-a-long. Also The Monuments Men read-a-long in October. I may read it before then…

  3. And the Tim O’Brien book in December too. Assuming I find a copy.

  4. […] 2.  Sunrise Over Fallujah by Walter Dean Myers, which I purchased from Amazon with my gift card from Anna and her family.  I’m not sure what else I’ll be buying just yet, but this is perfect for the February read-a-long at War Through the Generations. […]

  5. I’m looking forward to these!

  6. Thanks, Irene. I hope you join us in August

  7. Tracy, it would be great to have you for both August and October

  8. Yes, Tim O’Brien in December. I’m sure you can find a copy.

  9. I am as well. I will have to update it with the French/Indian and Korean War books.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 129 other followers

  • Past Posts