Reviews: SARAH’S KEY by Tatiana De Rosnay

sarah's keySarah’s Key by Tatiana De Rosnay is another popular book among our WWII reading challenge participants.  Here are excerpts from their reviews; click the links to read the full reviews.

Mari from MariReads says:

Such a sad tale and under such terrible circumstances. This book had me crying and wanting to find more books on what happened in France during the Occupation.

Corinne from The Book Nest says:

Let me start off by saying I could not put this book down. I must also say, that this book ripped my heart into tiny pieces and I’m not sure I’ll ever be the same. Really. Maybe it’s because I’m a mom or maybe I’m just an incredibly sensitive person. But I now have images in my brain that will never leave.

Kim from Page After Page says:

It was startling, staggeringly heartbreaking, and beautifully written. The destruction of innocence, of love, of trust brought me to tears.

Jo-Jo from Jo-Jo loves to read!!! says:

I think that Tatiana de Rosnay did a great job of providing historical information about a very important piece of history.

Tiina from A Book Blog of One’s Own says:

Melanie commented on my Library Loot post that she liked the history parts of the book better than the contemporary ones. In my case it was actually the opposite. Maybe it was because I have read quite a lot about WW II and it was largely rather obvious what would happen to Sarah.

Sumthinblue from Bookmarked! says:

As a novel, I found Sarah’s Key average. I liked Sarah’s story but couldn’t really bring myself to care about Julia, maybe because for the longest time she was content to serve as a doormat for her obnoxious husband, and I found myself wanting to skip to the chapters with Sarah’s story, which was many times more compelling.

But I never realized I’d learn so much from this book, particularly on the Vel’ d’Hiv’ roundup, which was obscured in history until recently.

warthrugen_button2

**Attention participants:  Remember to email us a link to your reviews, and we’ll post them here so we can see what everyone is reading!**

1 Comment

  1. I still have this one on the shelf to read. Maybe I will get to it now. 🙂 Thanks for posting.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 134 other subscribers
  • Past Posts