Reviews: BURNT SHADOWS by Kamila Shamsie

A few WWII reading challenge participants reviewed Burnt Shadows by Kamila Shamsie.  Here are excerpts from their reviews; click the links to read everything they had to say.

Diane from Bibliophile By the Sea says:

Spanning a period of almost 60 years and transporting the reader to five different countries, beginning in 1945 in Nagasaki, Japan and ending in the United States in 2002 while a man is awaiting sentencing.

An very good novel dealing with important issues, Burnt Shadows was an inspiring read, but perhaps a bit too ambitious. Specifically, the author, in my opinion, tried to cover too much in this one book: too many countries and cultures over too long a time period.

Kathy from Bermudaonion’s Weblog says:

The book starts out slow, and although the pace really doesn’t pick up much, I found myself drawn to the book after a few chapters.  Hiroko is such a strong female character and I really admired her ability to re-invent herself and her life when she needed to.

Amy from My Friend Amy says:

I suspect that Ms. Shamise wanted to tell a story about humanity in the middle of terrible times as well a story about all the terrible ways war happens, how quick decisions impact our lives and how the cruelties we visit upon one another perpetuate more and more cruelty and hatred. In some ways she succeeded though I found the book a bit tedious to get through. There were some parts I genuinely enjoyed yet I think the book would have benefited from being a bit shorter. Like maybe 100 pages shorter.

But I did enjoy a lot of it.

**Attention participants:  Remember to email us a link to your reviews, and we’ll post them here so we can see what everyone is reading!**

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 134 other subscribers
  • Past Posts