Review: SISTERS AGAINST SLAVERY by Stephanie Sammartino McPherson and Karen Ritz

Joy’s Book Blog read and reviewed Sisters Against Slavery: A Story About Sarah and Angelina Grimke written by Stephanie Sammartino McPherson and illustrated by Karen Ritz for the U.S. Civil War Reading Challenge 2011.  Here’s an excerpt:

This is a story that I should have heard long ago, say when I was about ten. In fact, I would have adored this story when I was ten right along with one of my favorite books, Harriet Tubman: Conductor on the Underground Railroad by Ann Petry. I’m so pleased to see this book written for that age group so that future generations will learn what I did not. 

Read the full review.

**Attention participants: Remember to email us a link to your reviews, and we’ll post them here so we can see what everyone is reading!**

2 Comments

  1. […] War Through the Generations, the blog of war-related reading challenges covering the Civil War this year, featured a review of mine last Monday: Review: SISTERS AGAINST SLAVERY by Stephanie Sammartino McPherson and Karen Ritz. […]

  2. Great sounding book!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 134 other subscribers
  • Past Posts